Wednesday, March 08, 2006

Young Named to Lombardi Watch List

Kyle Young was one of 43 named to the Lombardi Award preliminary Watch list early this week. Penn State All-American linebacker Paul Posluszny heads the list of for the 37th edition of the award given to the nation's top lineman/linebacker. Ohio State's A.J. Hawk won last year's award.

Young was one of only 3 Western Athletic Conference players named to the list. The others are Boise State linebacker Korey Hall and Hawaii offensive guard Samson Satele. Young is also one of six centers named to list, joining: USC's Ryan Kalil, West Virginia's Dan Mozes, Colorado's Mark Fenton, Arkansas State's Tanner Jenkins, and UCF's Cedric Gagne-Marcoux.

History is stacked against Young. The last offensive lineman to win the Lombardi Award was Ohio State tackle Orlando Pace, who won it back-to-back in 1995 and 1996. Only one center has ever won the Award, and that was Nebraska's Dave Rimington, arguably the best center ever to play college football. Rimington has an award in his namesake given to the nation's most outstanding center. The Rimington Trophy has been in existence since 2000, and Young most certainly will be named to its watch list when released.

No comments: